When considering the purchase of a motorhome, it’s important to be aware of all the costs involved, including sales tax.
The sales tax you’ll pay can vary greatly depending on the state you purchase it in. However, some states have no sales tax on motorhome sales.
In this guide, we’ll provide a breakdown of the sales tax rates for motorhomes in 50 US states, so you can make an informed decision on where to buy your motorhome and potentially save money on taxes.
Whether you’re a first-time motorhome buyer or upgrading your current one, this guide will help you budget for your purchase and ensure you’re getting the best deal possible.
How Much Are the Sales Tax on RVs Across All 50 US States?
Much like state taxes, motorhome sales taxes differ on a state-by-state case.
These tax rates are generally stable, but they can change from year to year.
Below we have discussed the current RV sales taxes in every US state so that you can decide if driving to a nearby state to buy your new motorhome is worth the effort:
In Alabama, you must register a recently bought motorhome within 20 days of purchasing it.
The sale tax on RV sales in this state is 2%, but you will also need to pay the statewide and local city taxes.
Alaska is one of the few states with a 0% state tax rate on motorhome sales.
However, this state’s local governments can charge a local sales tax rate on RV purchases of up to 7.5%.
According to Arizona’s laws, a new RV purchase has to be registered within 15 days of the sale being finalized.
The sales tax on RVs in this state is 5.6%, in addition to the county and city taxes that need to be paid on motorized vehicle sales.
If you buy a motorhome that costs more than $4,000 in Arkansas, you must pay a sales tax of 6.5% plus the county and local city tax rates.
Motorhome purchases of less than $4,000 aren’t applicable for the state sales tax. You will also need to register your new RV within 30 days.
In California, the sales tax rate on RVs is 7.5% in addition to the local tax rates.
Additionally, you must register your new RV within ten days of buying it in this state.
In addition to county, city, and district tax rates, people purchasing an RV must pay a sales tax of 2.9% in Colorado. You will also need to register the motorhome within 60 days.
Unlike other states, Connecticut has a 6.35% sales tax on RV purchases less than $50,000 and 7.75% on motorhomes costing more than $50,000.
Additionally, the motorhome you purchase must meet Connecticut’s emission testing requirements.
Delaware is another US state with a 0% sales tax rate on RV purchases.
However, this state does have a 3.75% ‘Document Fee’ that has to be paid for mobile homes.
Any motorhome sold or delivered in Florida must adhere to the 6% RV sales tax, and local sales surtaxes apply to the first $5,000 of the sales price of a motorhome in this state.
The RV sales tax for motorhome purchases in Georgie is 6.6%, and owners must register their RV within 60 days of buying it.
There are no other hidden sales tax fees.
In Hawaii, the RV sales tax is 4.12%, and RV owners must pay this fee and the specific county taxes.
You will also need to register your motorhome within 30 days of buying it.
Idaho has an RV sales tax of 6%, and you might have to pay various other fees like title, registration, and plate fees.
The period within which you can register your new motorhome in Idaho is 60 days.
Illinois is one of the more expensive states regarding sales tax on RVs.
In this state, you can expect to pay an RV sales tax of 7.25%, and you will need to register the motorhome within 20 days of buying it.
In Indiana, the RV sales tax is 7% making it more than other US states.
You will have a maximum of 45 days to register your purchase.
All RVs sold or used in Iowa have a 5% motorhome sales tax according to Iowa Code section 423D.
Additionally, you’ll have to register your motorhome within 30 days of purchase.
Interestingly, you will have up to 90 days to register a new RV purchase in Kansas.
However, the sales tax on recreational vehicles is steep.
You can expect to pay within 7.3% to 8.775%, and local taxes of up to 1% also need to be paid.
Curiously, there are no local or state taxes on motorhome purchases in Kentucky, but you will be responsible for an RV sales tax of no more than 6%.
In Louisiana, the municipalities and parishes have a local sales tax of between 1.85% and 7% that you will have to pay in addition to the RV sales tax of 4%.
The RV sales tax in Maine is 5.5%, and you will have 40 days to register your motorhome from the date it was purchased in this state.
The RV sales tax is calculated on the purchase price for motorhomes older than seven years.
Motorhomes newer than seven years will be charged an RV sales tax of 6% of the motorhome’s book value or purchase price.
In Massachusetts, the RV sales tax is 6.25% if the sale is made through a dealership or lessor registered to sell and lease.
You won’t have much time to register a newly bought motorhome in Michigan as the timeframe is only 15 days.
Additionally, the RV sales tax is 6% of the total purchase price of the motorhome.
In Minnesota, you will have 60 days to register a newly bought RV; the motorhome sales tax is 6.5%.
There is no local or municipal sales tax payable.
You will have 30 days to register your motorhome from the date of purchase, and you must pay an RV sales tax of 5% in this state.
In Missouri, the RV sales tax is 5%, and you will have 30 days to register your new purchase.
You will also have to pay local RV taxes.
Montana is known as a 0% sales tax state, so you won’t have to pay any sales taxes on an RV purchased in this state.
Additionally, you must register a motorhome within 60 days of purchasing it in Montana.
The RV sales tax in Nebraska is 5.5%, and you will have a maximum of 30 days from purchase to register a new motorhome.
Nevada has one of the highest RV sales tax rates in America.
This sales tax is 8.1%, and RVers only have 30 days to register a newly bought motorhome.
New Hampshire is another of the few US states with no RV sales taxes.
However, if you buy a motorhome in this state, you will need to pay state and municipality registration fees, and your RV will need to pass an emissions test.
Additionally, you’ll have 20 days to register the motorhome.
The RV sales tax in New Jersey is 7%, and you will have 60 days to register your newly bought motorhome.
In New Mexico, the RV sales tax is 4% of the price of the RV, less any trade-in credit.
You will also only have 30 days from the date of purchase to register a new motorhome.
In New York, there is a 4% RV sales tax on all new motorhomes, and you will also have to pay county or local taxes of up to 4.5% of the total price of your RV.
The RV sales tax in North Carolina is 3% up to a maximum of $2,000.
You will also need to register your motorhome within 30 days of buying it.
North Dakota allows RVers 75 days to register their newly bought motorhome.
This state also has an RV sales tax of 5%.
There are Ohio county taxes that can be as high as 2% that you will have to pay in addition to a 5.75% RV sales tax when purchasing a motorhome.
Moreover, some dealerships in Ohio could charge you up to 199 dollars for a documentary service fee.
The first 1,500 dollars spent on a motorhome in Oklahoma is taxed at a flat fee of $20.
After that, you will need to pay an RV sales tax of 3.25%.
There is no RV sales tax in Oregon. However, there is a 1.5% tax fee for an LLC RV.
Additionally, you must register a motorhome within 30 days of purchasing it in Oregon.
Curiously, Pennsylvania has various RV sales taxes depending on the county.
For example, the statewide RV sales tax is 6% but its 8% for the City of Philadelphia residents and 7% for residents of Allegheny County.
In addition, if you buy a motorhome in this state, you will only have 20 days to register it.
In Rhode Island, the RV sales tax on new or used motorhomes is 7% of the purchase price minus any allowances and trade-in credit.
You will also only have 30 days to register an RV.
Like other states, you will have 30 days to register a newly bought motorhome in South Carolina, with an RV sales tax of 6%.
South Dakotas RV sales tax is 4%, and you must register your new motorhome within 45 days.
There are no local or state taxes besides the sales tax on RV purchases.
Tennessee is the only US state with no registration timeframe.
Yet, there is an RV sales tax, and it is pretty high at 7%.
The RV sales tax in Texas is 6.25% minus any applicable trade-in credits.
Additionally, you’ll have 30 days to register a newly bought model.
Some Utah dealerships charge RVers a documentation fee of 149 dollars, which must be paid in addition to the RV sales tax of 6.85%.
The registration period for this is 60 days.
The RV sales tax in Vermont is 6%, and you must register your motorhome within 60 days of buying it.
The RV sales tax in Virginia must be paid at the time of titling, when the ownership changes, or when a motorhome is sold.
This sales tax is 4.15%, and you will have 30 days to register and pay it.
Washington has one of the shortest registration timeframes at 15 days for motorhomes.
This states RV sales tax fee is also high at 6.5%.
There is a titling fee and a 6% RV sales tax on new motorhome purchases in West Virginia.
You will also need to register your RV within 30 days of purchase.
In Wisconsin, there are county taxes of up to 0.5% and a stadium tax of up to 0.01%, and an RV sales tax of 5% for all motorhomes bought in this state.
Additionally, some Wisconsin RV dealerships also charge a 99-dollar service fee.
Some areas in Wyoming can charge a higher RV sales tax than others.
However, the RV sales tax is 4% for most parts of Wyoming.
You will also have to self-register your new motorhome as soon as possible.
What US States Have No Sales Tax On RVs?
At present, five US states have no sales tax on RVs.
These five states are Delaware, Oregon, Alaska, Montana, and New Hampshire.
If you buy a motorhome in these states, you will likely save money and get a better deal depending on local and state taxes.
What US States Have The Highest Sales Tax On RVs?
Some states in the US have higher sales taxes on RVs than others.
Although we listed them above, we’ve also listed them in one location below.
You might want to avoid buying your new motorhome in these states if you can help it and want to save money:
- Nevada: 8.1%
- Pennsylvania: 8% (Allegheny County)
- Kansas: 7.3% to 8.775% (depending on county)
- California: 7.25%
- Indiana: 7%
- Rhode Island: 7%
- Tennessee: 7%